Get Real

I took a short hiatus from blogging – and by short I mean about 8 months – and recently, I’ve been testing the waters again with a few posts here and there. What I struggle with more than anything else is coming with something to post. Which is weird, since the whole point of a personal blog is to talk about what’s going on in your life, so there should always be something…

So, after some soul searching, I’ve come to realize my problem: I’m trying too hard to make this blog have some monumental purpose. Every post should tackle some major issue in the church or in the Christian life or be full of revelation and knowledge or whatever. To be completely real about it – the thought of that just makes me want to shut the blog down permanently. It begins to feel like work to me – or, even worse, I could start to feel like it was some “high calling” and that I must preach my message into the internet abyss…

[OK – had to delete a huge rant here – but I’m back now…]

So, my goal now is to get back to the whole reason I started this blog in the first place – to celebrate the good, the bad and the ugly in each of us. Because I believe, with all my heart, that the biggest problem that Christianity is facing in the United States today, is that Christians are afraid to admit we are flawed, that we can be wrong, that we have sin in our lives, that sometimes bad things happen to good people and we don’t know why, that we don’t have all the answers, and that the ONLY thing that separates us from “the world” is the grace of God poured out through His Son, Jesus.

Can we please get real?

4 Responses

  1. Just keep on being yourself, Anessa. We can all relate to the good, the bad, and the ugly.

  2. Amen to the REAL! I am inspired by your struggle and triumph over religious pressure to be other than yourself, whether it’s blogging or any other part of your life. That is the very thing that hinders people from having real relationships and being real with people: that feeling of “not doing it right”. Trying to follow someone’s formula for sharing your heart leads to more and more facade and religion. Yuck. We have enough of that.

    • That’s it exactly! I think my next post is going to be on facades – why we need them and why we allow them to take over.

Leave a Reply

