You can do anything you set your mind to

And other lies our parents told us…

I’ve decided that the new mid-life crisis age is 30. I’ve seen too many of my friends (and myself) freak out at 30 because they finally realize that, no, they are not going to ever attain their dream. I’ve been told my whole life that I can be whatever I choose to be, I can do whatever I set my mind to, no dream is the impossible dream. Well, let’s face it – that’s just not true! There was NEVER a chance, EVER that I would one day be the president. Period.

When I was about 8, I took a gymnastics class that I loved and, as it turned out, I was actually really good. I said to my mom, “If I practice really, really hard, could I be in the Olympics some day?” And she said, “You can be and do anything you set your mind to.” But I soon figured out that it wasn’t really true. I asked my Gymnastics coach, “What would it take for me to be in the Olympics?” and he said, “You would have to go back in time and start doing this when you were 2.”

Are all men are created equal? Absolutely. The Bible says in 10 different verses that in God, there is no respect of persons; meaning that we are not to value one person over another for any reason. Galatians 3:28 says that in Christ there is neither Jew nor Greek, bond nor free, male nor female; again saying that all are equal in the eyes of God and should be so in our eyes as well.

However…

Where you were born, when you were born and what family you were born to makes a difference. Did you know there is a presidential lineage? Almost all of the presidents of the U.S. come from two or three different family lines. Did you know that there was a lineage that brought Christ to the world? God chose Abraham thousands of years before Jesus was born. What about many of the multi-millionaires in the world today? What was their lineage? I did a quick look at the Forbes top 10 wealthiest Americans – ALL 10 of them are from wealthy families – their fortunes were inherited (at least in part) from their parents. 4 of the top 10 are the heirs of the Walmart family. And 2 are brothers whose father was an innovator in the oil industry.

Yes, you are created equal with these people, but did you have the same choices open to you? I’m not trying to go on some rant about rich people, or trying to sing some sad song about how unfair life is. I’m just saying – life is not fair. And you can’t always do anything you set your mind to.

We need to stop lying to our kids and stop lying to ourselves. And then, maybe, we can find some peace in being who it is that we can be. If I can focus on being the best “me” possible, then my satisfaction, my peace of mind, my fulfillment in life can come from that. I believe that God designed me for a specific purpose, and the more “me” I am, the closer I get to fulfilling that purpose for my life.

One Response

  1. That’s awesome Anessa! For me, I think a root of this problem is that we have such a narrow definition of what success looks like…almost always involving fame. But there’s just not enough time for EVERYONE to be famous. But like you said, I CAN be me.

Leave a Reply

