Let It Be

Not only a great song by The Beatles. Words to live by.

If you’re one of the few people who read this blog and don’t also read Heretics and/or Ricky Patrick, I recommend checking out some of their most recent posts (links to their blogs are on my blogroll to the right) because the most recent ones “The Leadership Conundrum” and “Believe the Best” are what have sparked this post from me.

Last week, a group of us leaders from GBF went to the Catalyst Conference in Atlanta. A leadership conference geared toward the young leaders in today’s church. There were some great presentations, great music, great preaching and teaching, loads of ideas, programs and innovations for us to experience.

I think it’s interesting that every person I’ve asked “What was your #1 take away from Catalyst” the answer has been different. One person said, “The whole conference was about how much being a leader sucks.” Another said, “The whole conference was about how much we need each other and how important relationships are.” For me, the whole conference was centered on and inspired by humility – remembering that, while we strive to be our very best, we have to remember that our very best is as filthy rags. We are nothing and can do nothing separate from the mercy, grace and power of God.

It’s been a week now since Catalyst ended, and I’ve had time to ponder what I heard, discuss thoughts and ideas with friends and colleagues, and search my own heart. And I’ve come to the conclusion that I just need to let myself be me. That’s one of those statements that seems simple and obvious, but in application, actually becomes complicated and somehow elusive. We define ourselves by so many criteria, it’s easy to become distracted or even overwhelmed by the myriad of possibilities and options.

I think that I have recently been caught up in the idea of “being a leader” rather than being caught up in following after God. When I focus in on God, and do all that He has put in my heart to do, I look around and there are people following me with excitement, energy and expectation. But when I notice them, then stop and turn to them in order to “develop” them, suddenly I’ve stopped leading and the momentum dries up. I know that I’m never going to be Francis Chan, or Kari Jobe or Marie Hendrix. And that’s OK, because I’m not SUPPOSED to be them, I’m supposed to be ME.

Now, for the pilgrimage to discover just who the heck that is…

2 Responses

  1. This is awesome stuff! It’s really cool to get to hear what everyone took away from Catalyst.

  2. I have come to know that becoming a leader is not about others. Others are only involved indirectly. Becoming a leader is discovering and embracing ourselves and all that we represent – good and bad, ugly and beautiful and all in between.

    For me Catalyst was about a celebration of the journey of knowing one’s self. As we travel further down that path, we lose the trappings that were designed to influence and attract others, until there is nothing left but our souls and the knowledge that we are nothing. Yet, we become keenly aware that God has equipped and graced us with everything. As we stand before others, stripped of all that we wish to hide behind, we discover that we are empowered to and for everything. That unites us with all other leaders and draws and attracts all the souls of others who sometimes unknowingly long to be free and dare to pursue the freedom that another has discovered.

    I heard at Catalyst from the mouths of great leaders a solace and truth that I could not have imagined or grasped in my youth. Now, I better understand the joy that emerges from intense pain, the value of paying a great price, and the comfort of giving everything to be possessed by no thing. Perhaps it is when approaching the joy that is set before us, that one discovers not that they are a leader, but that they have walked further down the path that others follow.

Leave a Reply

